Bolt won't fully close.
Like Tree3Likes
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Bolt won't fully close.

Bolt won't fully close.

Sometimes the bolt will not fully close on my XCR-M. It stops 1/4 to 1/2" from the closed position. I have put about 200 rounds through it so it is broken in. I have done alot of reloading for my bolt gun but I am new to loading for the semi auto. I feel it is related to brass size beacuse it is difficult to open the bolt and eject the round after it stops short. It will do this 10% of the time. I am full length sizing my brass every time and seating to an OAL of 2.80". Any advice is apprciated.

Thanks

Re: Bolt won't fully close.

Have you tried any other factory loads? It looks like you are reloading your own? Does it happen progressively more as the round count went up?

You could try removing the barrel and using an empty yet to be primed brass and test fit using the bolt.

"Be Vigilant and Safe!!"
    "Molon Labe!!"
    "It Is A Weak Man Who Urges Compromise!!"

I put a bit of surplus stuff throught it and I don't recall any issues with that. Everything else I have loaded myself. I do trim the brass as well and bump the shoulders back too. It does not show a pattern as far as being related to theround count. I have a round that got stuck 2 times, so maybe I will remove the bolt and just try dropping it into the chamber.

4. Remove Advertisements
    XCRForum.com
    Advertisements

Be safe. Let us know how that one fits.

"Be Vigilant and Safe!!"
    "Molon Labe!!"

Wow, that answered that! (sort of). The surplus round dropped .2" deeper into the chamber than my hand load. The question is.....why. The AOL of both is the same. I tried to chamber that same hand load 2 times and the shoulder shows signs that it was contacting the throat of the chamber? The top half of the case also shows sings that it was very tight in the chamber. I have never had any issues with brass sizing in my bolt action.