new XCR failure to cycle
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: new XCR failure to cycle

  1. #1
    Newbie zeb777's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    5

    new XCR failure to cycle

    First to clear up what i have here is a "XCR-L" that has the upper of a XCR~SBR (I believe)

    last May(2010) I had a Class 3 Dealer order a SBR~XCR. 8 months later, with no news on the forms, I started hammering my dealer to find out whats taking so long. Turns out Robinson never filed the paper work, and would do so now. I had already been waiting 9 months by this time, and said "If they don't just put a long barrel on the thing and send it out, keep it!" So a week later I get this.

    spent 100 rounds, with out a single cycle. Tryed on all setting.

    Ammo type:
    Federal Ammunition
    5.56x45mm
    62 Grain Ball FMJ

    I thought maybe it just needs to be broken at first but by the end of the day, with out even a hint of it trying to cycle, started to think something is wrong.

    I've read through the "problem" section on the forms most problems guys are having, isn't happening on this rifle.

    As far as i can tell it just like a XCR-L with a SBR upper for a 10" barrel.

    But perhaps Robinson didn't put the right parts into my SBR to make it a fully functioning XCR-L 16".
    Maybe it has the wrong buffer spring. (I.e. for a 7.62 or 6.5, i don't know)
    Gas piston may be the short. Perhaps was left in from the SBR.
    Or just a manufacturing fault some where in the rifle I can't detect.

    I have made sure that gas is getting to the piston.
    I heard people where having problems with the gas block coming loose, and moving on them, but mine is snug, and locked in good. On one of these picture I used a pipe cleaner and pushed it through the gas block, into the barrel. To insure it's properly aligned, and free from obstructions.

    The Gas tube has 6 holes on it. i know it is supposed to, but just feeding you guys some info here.
    The piston sits at the 3 hole from the top. When to bolt all the way forward.

    Thought maybe the Piston should seat all the way up to the gas block, and not 2 holes away form it

    The manual cycling is smooth, and I really like it.(Just like it a lot more if it would do it on its own.)

    Any information would be help full, had this less then a month, would like to show it off.
    But its embarrassing showing off this [s]simi~auto[/s] Bolt action rifle.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails new XCR  failure to cycle-overall.jpg   new XCR  failure to cycle-gas-block.jpg   new XCR  failure to cycle-gas-knob2.jpg   new XCR  failure to cycle-barrel-01.jpg   new XCR  failure to cycle-overall.jpg  

    new XCR  failure to cycle-gas-block.jpg   new XCR  failure to cycle-gas-knob2.jpg   new XCR  failure to cycle-barrel-01.jpg  

  2. #2
    Newbie zeb777's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    5

    Re: new XCR failure to cycle

    Also I forgot to add.

    The Gas knob has a little play in it not much, it's also in the pictures.

  3. #3
    XCR Guru dont_tread_on_me's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    virginia
    Posts
    5,623

    Re: new XCR failure to cycle

    When in battery the head of the piston should sit just inside the hole in the back of the gasblock.From what I can tell by your information,you have the wrong piston length



    War is an ugly thing, but not the ugliest of things: the decayed and degraded state of moral and patriotic feeling which thinks nothing worth a war, is worse.... A man who has nothing which he is willing to fight for, nothing which he cares more about than he does about his personal safety, is a miserable creature who has no chance of being free, unless made and kept so by the exertions of better men than himself.----John Stuart Mill

  4. Remove Advertisements
    XCRForum.com
    Advertisements
     

  5. #4
    XCR Guru WatchoutforStobor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    2,362

    Re: new XCR failure to cycle

    That's frustrating! :duh:

    Been there, done that. :P

    It sounds like maybe they threw the 16" barrel on but didn't change the piston head to 16" length. It would be a pretty simple fix, if you can get them to mail the right part quickly.

    Good luck.

  6. #5
    Rifleman rusirius's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    142

    Re: new XCR failure to cycle

    "If they don't just put a long barrel on the thing and send it out, keep it!"

    Well there's your problem.... 8)

    They did EXACTLY what you told them to do... :duh:

    Unfortunately what you should have said was, "If they don't just put a long barrel AND long piston head on the thing and send it out, keep it!"

    Now the daunting question you have to ask yourself.... Did they INTENTIONALLY do it, taking your words literally just to piss you off, or did they do it completely by mistake? You'd think a test firing would be pretty standard after making such a change....

  7. #6
    Marksman Gramps96Kz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    374

    Re: new XCR failure to cycle

    zeb777....PM sent....KermitZ

  8. #7
    Newbie zeb777's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    5

    Re: new XCR failure to cycle

    To: rusirius

    Ya I guess I'll just have to hold their hand.

    They cant seem to File proper paperwork, why would I expect them to give me a fully functional rifle that I payed $1300+ for.
    Guess I'm not paying for quality, here.

    But all joking aside. I'm really and not pleased with the failure to at least, test fire it before they "put their stamp of approval" on a item.

    And: KermitZ

    Thanks, I'll get the info you requested sent later today.

  9. #8
    Newbie zeb777's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    5

    Re: new XCR failure to cycle

    Here is the length of the Gas piston

    10-1/4 inches.

    This the normal length for a 16" barrel?
    --------------------------------------------------------------

    Also added a picture of where the piston sits inside the gas tube.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails new XCR  failure to cycle-oprod.jpg   new XCR  failure to cycle-gas-tube.jpg   new XCR  failure to cycle-oprod.jpg   new XCR  failure to cycle-gas-tube.jpg  

  10. #9
    XCR Guru TexasChris's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    4,705

    Re: new XCR failure to cycle

    Bingo. You found the problem. This is my piston from the 16" system.



    Do what you've always done, get what you've always got. ----- Have gun. Will travel.

  11. #10
    Expert cjt50's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Tampa Bay
    Posts
    772

    Re: new XCR failure to cycle

    :duh: looks like RA missed that one. You have the mini piston, straight -L pistion is longer. No wonder it won't cycle. Thankfully it's an easy fix, but it shouldn't of happen in the 1st place.
    "Tis better to be silent and be thought a fool, than to speak and remove all doubt." - Pres. A. Lincoln

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Sponsors

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Failure to cycle
    By dracoman in forum Problems
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-22-2011, 05:55 PM
  2. Replies: 126
    Last Post: 01-09-2011, 09:46 AM
  3. does the XCR cycle subsonic 223/5.56 reliably?
    By par0thead151 in forum Sales Questions for RA
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-10-2009, 10:25 PM
  4. My rifle won't cycle reliably
    By The Newbie in forum Problems
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 04-06-2009, 07:37 PM
  5. Failure to cycle.
    By Jbpark55 in forum Problems
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 05-12-2008, 05:17 PM

Search tags for this page

how to put in the gas tube xcr
,
robertson xcr-8
,
robinson xcr gas tube
,
xcr 223 wont cycle
,
xcr failure to cycle
,

xcr gas tube

,
xcr-l gasblock holding barrel off center
,
xcrl failuore to cycle
Click on a term to search for related topics.