sighting in issues

Thread: sighting in issues

sighting in issues

I purchased an XCR-L chambered in 5.56. I lubricated the rifle and set it to gas setting 4 as per instructions. I zeroed the rifle at the 25(meters) firing point. When I started shooting at the 100m firing point the rifle was not hitting paper. I then went back to 25m point and proved the rifle was on target. I progressively shot my way back from the 25m point to the 100m point in 10 meter increments. The grouping progressively travelled high and to the right until it was off paper at 100m. I have not altered the rifle in anyway. The grouping travels approximately 9 inches between 25m and 100m. I am taking off the barrel and re-seating it. I will use the 200 inch/pounds of torque. But I don't see how this will work as there did'nt seem to be any debree in the barrel socket for misalignment.

Please help, thanks
    -Mike.

Re: sighting in issues

*UPDATE*
    After taking the barrel off I re-tightened it to 200 inch/pounds. I took it to the range. I sighted the rifle in at 25m. I then went to the 100 meter firing point. The rifle is shooting 4 inches high but is now centered on the paper. Correct me if I wrong, but if a rifle is sighted in for 25m it should shoot an inch high at 100m. (I am basing this off my Ar15). The XCR sights are higher from the barrel then the ar15s. Does it naturally shoot 4 inches higher between the 25m and 100m?

Thanks Mike.

Depends - what are the height of your sights?
    The 25 meter zero on an AR doesn't work for me with the XCR - I use a 300 yard zero instead.
    But yes, the difference in bore-to-sightline height makes a big difference. I don't remember exactly how much, but I know it was some.