Failure to cycle.
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Failure to cycle.

  1. #1
    Marksman Jbpark55's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Umatilla OR
    Posts
    635

    Failure to cycle.

    Today I went to shoot my XCR. This is the first time since I upgraded to the new gas block. I took with seven 30rd mags and one 20 rd mag, plus a half a dry box of ammo.

    Ammo used Wolf 62gr (black Box) in the 30rd mags. PMC 55gr SP in the 20rd mag. And IMI (M855) 62gr Green tip, & IMI 55gr ammo.

    After target set up. I put the gas setting on #3. I put in the 20rd mag. All rounds fired just as they should. Spent cases landed about 10ft & about 2 o' clock, mag is now empty. So I reload with one of my 30rd mags (WOLF). The first round fails to eject. The bolt is stuck and I have to use my flathead screwdriver (that I keep for that purpose). I try again a few more times. Same thing, but I can use the charging handle it just takes a couple a toughs.

    So now I change gas settings. This is when I notice the gas block has become loose. So I put is back in place an re tighten. I tried all five settings S 1-4 that same thing happens. So I decided to try my brass cased stuff. (It has always worked before). Nope, not this time. Same thing. Again settings S 1-4. The same thing the spent casing will not eject. Basically I have a bolt action XCR. It goes bang just fine.

    Note: I did have to use a torch to get the old gas block off. (May be the source of the problem :duh:, hope not) It is like there is no gas flowing back to the piston. But when I looked @ it I see carbon on it.

    Here are some photos. Any ideas ??? I am thinking about sending the barrel and piston/op-rod back to Rob-Arm to have them look @ it.









    Edit: Made pictures smaller. 05/12/08
    You are either moving forward, or backwards. Their is no neutral in life.

  2. #2
    XCR Guru TerraShrewsbury's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Salt Lake City
    Posts
    5,177

    Re: Failure to cycle.

    oh, no, jason. You might have a bad gas block. Seems like it functioned long enough to make it past the in-shop testing. I am still waiting on gas blocks - I'll have to get back to you on when I can get a replacement going. For now, you will need to switch back to the old one until I can get another for you. So sorry.
    Resident Forum Slut

  3. #3
    Marksman Jbpark55's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Umatilla OR
    Posts
    635

    Re: Failure to cycle.

    I took an acetylene torch to it. Trying to get it off.
    You are either moving forward, or backwards. Their is no neutral in life.

  4. Remove Advertisements
    XCRForum.com
    Advertisements
     

  5. #4
    XCR Guru gunner69's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Alabama
    Posts
    2,200

    Re: Failure to cycle.

    Jb, I may be wrong, but a new gas system means A NEW BREAKIN PERIOD. Thats 300 rds on setting four. NO WOLF til that is done! Sorry to hear you are having problems, Terra can (will) help. :duh: ;D :2cents:
    Fio para bellator - be the Prepared Warrior

  6. #5
    Expert magikbullet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    1,475

    Re: Failure to cycle.

    wow, those are some big pictures!

    gunner poses an interesting question. If you switch to a new gas system or new bolt for example, do you need to do 300 at gas 4 again?

  7. #6
    Expert TEXAS SOLFTAIL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Central,Texas
    Posts
    1,284

    Re: Failure to cycle.

    The gas system not being a moving part I wouldn't think in needs a breaking period, a new bolt maybe-not if the receiver is already broke in.

  8. #7
    XCR Guru TerraShrewsbury's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Salt Lake City
    Posts
    5,177

    Re: Failure to cycle.

    No, no new break in period is required. Jason, when you do get it off, send it my way, ok? I will PM you the address.
    Resident Forum Slut

  9. #8
    Marksman Jbpark55's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Umatilla OR
    Posts
    635

    Re: Failure to cycle.

    OK, Terra. Got your message.
    You are either moving forward, or backwards. Their is no neutral in life.

Sponsors

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. new XCR failure to cycle
    By zeb777 in forum Problems
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 02-04-2012, 02:47 PM
  2. Failure to cycle
    By dracoman in forum Problems
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-22-2011, 05:55 PM
  3. Replies: 126
    Last Post: 01-09-2011, 09:46 AM
  4. does the XCR cycle subsonic 223/5.56 reliably?
    By par0thead151 in forum Sales Questions for RA
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-10-2009, 10:25 PM
  5. My rifle won't cycle reliably
    By The Newbie in forum Problems
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 04-06-2009, 07:37 PM