New to forum, looking for perspective
Like Tree3Likes
  • 2 Post By navalbeaver
  • 1 Post By mjorin

Thread: New to forum, looking for perspective

New to forum, looking for perspective

Hey everyone,

I joined this forum because I've been on the fence about an XCR purchase for some time now, and I'd like to get some tailored feedback from current owners.
    Given this is an introduction; a little about myself. I will leave it to your imagination as to what I do for a living, but I have a respectable, but by no means expert amount of firearms training. I've had a rifle by my side in just about any environment you could find, and it heavily factors into my decision making. I spent some time behind a number noteworthy systems including the M27 IAR, Knights M110 SASS, M40A6, and even the new HK CSASS based of the MR762. If I was a "well off" individual I would own most of these weapons myself, but I am not... so I find myself seeking the ever illusive rifle that "does it all". The XCR, at least in concept, is the closest I've found. Hopefully some of you can give me some up to date info about how it is in practice.

I was looking to save up the funds for a XCR-M in .308 w/ a 18.6 heavy, but given the similar ballistics performance and price per round, I am now seriously considering the XCR-L in 6.5x39 w/ 18.6 heavy, as the XCR-L is a few hundred cheaper, and the savings could go toward a 7.62 barrel, allowing me the flexibility to use 7.62x39 when working within 200 meters. I still have some concerns though...

First, accuracy, first round impact at 700 meters is a standard I'd like to maintain. The 6.5 ballistics can do it, but does the rifle keep up? The limited info I'm seeing has the XCR at 2-3 MOA. What kind of numbers are being seen with the 6.5? In addition to high grade ammo, are there any measures to get this rifle down to the 1 MOA neighborhood as advertised?