What ammo to use as break in ammo

Thread: What ammo to use as break in ammo

What ammo to use as break in ammo

Ok I should be getting my XCR in this week (Im praying I get it this week) so I was wondering what ammo to use to break it in with. The website says American Eagle but is their anything else that can be used? What should the load be for optimal break in use? I am sure their is a thread for this already but I am a noob and searched and didnt find it. Please guide me oh XCR gods. Thanks
    "The tree of liberty must be refreshed from time to time with the blood of patriots and tyrants." -Thomas Jefferson-

"The only real power comes out of a long rifle."
    -Joseph Stalin-

Jack A Sol

Re: What ammo to use as break in ammo

yeah, there are like 5 threads on this somewhere, but when I enter "break in ammo" in the search I didn't get anything either. then I tried searching from the forum home page and got a bunch of threads.

answer...

High impulse ammo. something hot.

the logic behind that it to cycle the action firmly and allow it to wear faster i guess.

frankly, tho I dont think it makes a lot of difference, if you are aware that you may experience some failures till it does in fact break in. Mil surp was what I used myself, on the first gun then the second got broken in by Terra for me, and by the time I got it, it ran just fine with barnaul and wolf as well.

my advice is to run it until it runs right. dont stop with "200" rounds. get some rounds thru it and have fun. put 400 thru it, then check all screws and bolts for tightness and lock tight any that seem questionable or loose (except the barrel bolt)

Any ammo that is hot will do

Make sure you lube it and have checked everything is tight before you go to the range then shoot it on setting 4 for atleast 200 round and the if you have not had any problems you could go down to setting 3. After your break-in loctite anything that should not need to be removed