XCR Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
85 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have an XCR in 5.56. I was planning to buy a .308 barrel kit when available. I just read on the Robarms FAQ, however, that the XCR-L will not support .308. Does that mean I'd have to buy an entire new rifle for the .308? Thanks.

·
Registered
207 Posts
One of the experts can elaborate, but yes, you'll need a new rifle. I think it has to do with the length of the action and the size of the bolt/case head.

·
Registered
5,623 Posts
Yes the XCR-M(for medium)will be a larger frame weapon ,very much similar to an AR15(5.56x45) vs an AR10(7.62x51).The heavier recoil forces,and longer cartridge length dictate a more robust and larger frame.The stroke length(distance the action has to travel to chamber a new round) between the two rounds is significant enough the the standard AR15 frame would not accommodate the longer round.I'm no engineer but I would say the frame would take a fair amount of abuse but would eventually succumb to the greater forces at work on it as well.
You can make a bolt for the XCR or an AR15 work with the larger diameter case(7.62x51)uses a .473 diameter bolt head and the (5.56) uses a .378 bolt head.So to answer your question,yes you will have to buy a completely new rifle,once it has been released of course.

Never pay again for live sex! | Hot girls doing naughty stuff for free! | Chat for free!

·
Registered
85 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks for explaining and clarifying this for me. Unfortunately, I cannot afford a complete rifle and I really wanted a .308. Still, I'm happy with the XCR-L.

·
Registered
2,200 Posts
You can always buy a 6.5, 6.8, or 7.62x39 Kit for the XCR you have. :2cents: ;D

·
Registered
85 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·