XCR Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
491 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've already admitted I'm a newbie about assault style and battle rifles so here's the question. How do you benchrest a XCR (or FAL for that matter) when zeroing? The real issue is the magazine sticking out along with the vertical fore grip. Do you take the vertical grip off and put the handguard on the pad or put the bottom of the vetical grip on the pad or do something else? If you have a bipod and zero with it supporting the rifle, does the POI change if you take the bipod off.

I do have a 5 round magazine for the FAL which makes it a little easier to use on the bench but the vertical grip is still the issue.

This picture shows the issue. With the vertical foregrip you either need a tall rifle rest or need to put the grip on the rest and be sitting a lot higher on the bench.

·
Registered
448 Posts
In my 25+ years shooting evil rifles I've only uses a foward grip maybe twice. It ain't for me.

I use sand bags. They sell some nifty and cheap, bag rests at wally world. I use 25 yard/meter zero and confirm/readjust at 200.

When zeroing any magazine fed rifle try to rest the rifle as close to the chamber, and make sure your mag is not resting on the ground, so use short ones.

Resting closer to the muzzle will cause it to flex (XCR not included unless you rest it on the GB or barrel). Resting with the mag on the ground (or table) will cause it to pivot and wobble. You'll use up concentration and energy just balancing the rifle.

The rifle should rest on the HG as close to the chamber either balanced or resting on the bottom of the stock and nothing else touching. That is why I prefer the bags over anything else.