XCR Forum banner

Would you donate money (or other stuff) to help me continue to improve and grow the forum?

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,045 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been running this forum out of pocket for pretty much 8 months now. I think everyone can agree it's been run pretty well. There haven't been many (if any at all) outages and I think only a few spammers and I banned/removed their posts promptly.

I love my XCR rifle and will continue to offer the forum for free because I benefit from all the great knowledge you guys have dispensed here.

Having said this I would also love to add features, improve the layout and generally spend more time on the forum doing whatever admins are supposed to do :)

Here are some things I would like to do in the future:

- Significantly improve the layout, so that it's not using the generic layout that came with the forum software (you would still be able to change back to it in your preferences later on.)

- My hosting company does nightly backups of the data but they do not guarantee it in writing. I do backups occasionally but ideally it would be nice to do a backup every single night to my home computer and then burn it on DVD/CD or tape once a week. I think this is a must as the forum continues to grow and it becomes too valuable to have anything happen to it.

- Improve the chat on the main page. Make it more responsive (page doesn't have to reload to see new messages), allow it to hover so that you could have it open in a separate window (so you could chat while browsing threads), improve the history feature so that you could view the chatlogs by week or month for example, make it searchable. There are lots of things I can do to make it a more useful feature of this site.