XCR Forum banner

1 - 20 of 58 Posts

·
Registered
182 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Seems like FALs don't even make half of your lists. I won't ask for a comparison with the illusory XCR-M, but what am I missing? It's a proven design for .308, folding stock, piston action. Unlike the KelTec RFB and FN products you can actually buy them right now. Unlike the POF it's not based on an action built for lighter rounds. The M1A design seems archaic by comparison (though I admit I have no experience with it).

Does DSA's implementation come up short?

·
Registered
2,031 Posts
What lists?

I have two, I like them for the most part. Unfortunately they have been mostly safe queens for me so far, but I plan to change that one day when I have the time to concentrate on some FAL shooting.

·
Registered
2,200 Posts
I own three FALs...... and LOVE em. However, don't put down the M1A (M-14) as it does have better sights and has the trophies to prove it. I also own a Match Grade M1A and a SOCOM II. Either an FAL or a M1A is a great choice for a battle rifle.

·
Registered
182 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Since I haven't had experience with either M-14 or FAL, can you point me to a good comparison?

Are sights really an issue? I will probably put at least an ACOG on whatever I get, and I assume I could get either with rails to accommodate a good BUIS?

Most important to me is ease of cleaning and maintenance. Are the M1A's direct gas, or do they use a piston? I've had it with direct gas impingement!

·
Banned
8,010 Posts
The FAL is near perfection. There is not one part on the FAL that could cause catostratic failure. On the FALfiles there is Ole Dirty, thrown in muddy waters and soaked for half hour, no cleaning and 16,000 rounds later she is still going strong. But for a modern small arms weapon of today it needs to be more modular. Here is what the FAL needs: