XCR Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2,067 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok I have a Bushmaster AR-15 with a "sniper" style setup. I have plenty of steel and aluminum 30rnd mags and a few magpuls. I prefer the poly mags, but with Pmags and Maglevels being such a rareity now a days, I decided to try out an L5 mag. They are very nice and I like the traslucent feature. Much better than the maglev idea IMO.

However, I took it to the range the other day with a full 30 rnds in the mag. I had a hard time getting the mag to seat in the magwell. I had to "slam" it in for the latch to catch. Every other mag I have, allows me to insert the mag and lock it in gently. Not the L5. I have not heard of this problem with them.

Anyone else experience this issue with the L5? ???

·
Banned
8,010 Posts
I picked up 5 to try out. They work great so far, but then again almost all my mags do.

I still prefer the PMags, the Lancers seems a lot more flimsy, but then again I don't plan to run over any mags, so as long as the reliably feed through the years that is all that matters.

·
Registered
2,067 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
It is possible it may just be my BM AR. I just thought it strange since all of my other mags go in so easily. The catch on the mag for the release lever on the L5 is slightly different from Pmags and all other USGI type. Just odd. :(

·
Registered
636 Posts
I picked up 5 to try out. They work great so far, but then again almost all my mags do.

I still prefer the PMags, the Lancers seems a lot more flimsy, but then again I don't plan to run over any mags, so as long as the reliably feed through the years that is all that matters.
I take it that you used them in the XCR?

·
Registered
5,623 Posts
All AR magwells are not equal,some manufacturers have tightened up the original Colt specs on them to reduce slop.Therefore some magazines(especially polymer ones)can be too tight to work.That's quite possibly what you are experiencing.

·
Registered