XCR Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
704 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
All,

I have made a prototype sling that I hope combines the strengths of a single point, 2 point sling, and a 3 point sling while minimizing the weaknesses of each and am trying to gauge interest to see if I need to apply for a patent. Please let me know your opinions.

What I have tried to accomplish is the following:

The simplicity of a single or two point sling.

The control of a 3 point sling.

Quick transitions to the handgun, with reasonable control of the rifle.

Versatility in that in can be used in several ways.

Easily adaptable to many guns--ie one sling I can easily move from gun to gun.

Minimal storage impact.

I am a police officer that works patrol and SWAT. The gun rides in the trunk more than I carry it, so having the sling not get tangled in the trunk or passenger compartment is a must as the gun must be quickly deployable. As a road cop, I don't always sling in so being able to throw it over my should like a two point is nice. As a cop, I handcuff, move things, etc. with a gun slung more than I do shooting.

Right now my current sling is a 3 point that stores as a two point. This setup has worked well, but as I push to improve left handed shooting with the rifle the sling gets in the way.

The prototype stores as a two point, has no loose nylon or anything when in use, can easily convert from a two point to a single point and back as needed. So far, I have come up with 4 different ways to use this sling.

I will be using the sling at work and during training to see how I can improve on it. I have begun checking and I can get the materials in bulk to make the sling. This one sling fits my XCR, an AR as long as it has a receiver plate, my HK 94, and my DSA TP9. It can be had with or without a quick release buckle on the strap itself.

I wish I could post pics, but I have to protect my design for now.