XCR Forum banner

Opinions wanted

3K views 13 replies 8 participants last post by  mjorin 
#1 ·
Today, I was having some problems with the XCR. I ended up putting it away because the situation was such that trouble shooting was not realistic.
At home, cleaning, I found that I imagine the firing pin is broken. No big deal, have a spare bolt and several pins.
It appears to have broken, and jammed forward, with the tip projecting far further than it travels ordinarily.
My question is this... could that cause an out of battery kaboom (or whatever it is meant to be called)?????? It looks to me like it could easily have, but I really don't know?
I am working on a picture. Thanks for any input, as I am only learning.

#2 ·
I suppose if it was stuck hard enough, it could. But I'm no expert.

I found a similar issue on my P229, but I didn't experience any failures. I had read a story about a police officer/detective that had gotten killed when his holstered SIG slid off a stack of papers he was carrying, hit the floor and discharged. The firing pin safety should have prevented it from happening, but apparently it was determined that he was using a holster not designed for his pistol. In order to get the retention snap to close, he would pull the trigger and thumb the hammer forward. He would keep pressure on the hammer as he holstered and snapped the strap. This resulted in the hammer not returning to its neutral position and kept the firing pin safety disengaged.

Anyway, I as took my pistol out to recreate those circumstances (unloaded, of course) I found my firing pin was sticking out of the hole. A little nudge and it would return. I don't know how long it had been broken, and it didn't take much force to recess it. Just pressing against a cartridge would suffice.

So I guess it depends on which requires more force: pushing the broken pin back in, or igniting the primer.