XCR Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
89 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just got a Millett Zoom Dot and an ADM aimpoint mount to put it in. This is my first time putting an optic in a mount myself and I was wondering if there was a way to make sure it is perfectly level or if the SWAG and eyeball method is good enough. Looks pretty good to me but I wanted to make sure I got it right before I zero it.

Thanks

·
Registered
4,533 Posts
There are these paddle-like things that you can buy, I never have.

What I do, is make sure my rifle is setting completely vertical. Using a line on the wall, you can make sure the cross-hairs are straight up and down.

To verify, get on the range CLOSE. Like 25 to 50 meters. Run the scope as low as it'll get, fire 10 rounds (which should be in danged-near one hole) then run the scope up as high as it'll go - repeat the grouping.

If the groups aren't vertical, either it's your hold, or the scope needs twisting.

With boltguns it's easier. With the bolt removed, you can look down the barrel at the line on the wall, making sure it's centered in the barrel. Everything HAS to be good then.

·
Registered
49 Posts
Zoom dots don't have cross hairs if I'm looking at the right thing here. It's a dot. The only problem you'll have if it's canted is that it'll drift right or left slightly when dialing the elevation in when you zero it. (Or up and down with windage...) There's no BDC or turrets or anything like that, so I can't think of a reason that it would need to be perfectly straight.