XCR Forum banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
919 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok so I have very little experience with pistols. My fire arms experience comes from My Dad, who wanted with shotgun and bow, and the good ol Army which was kind enough to make me very proficient with Rifles, carbines, Machine guns and grenade launchers, mmmmmm. But I was never once issued a pistol. Frown.

Now I've had my pistol permit for a bit now and am finally ready to go pick one up. As I have been doing some research as to what would be good for my first hand cannon I am getting a sense that pistols vary in function and design a hell of a lot more than the rifles and machine guns I'm used to. So I was looking to get some feedback on the different actions for a pistol to narrow my search. Single, Double only, Single and Double? Oh and I get single and double but what the hell does "safe action" mean? Some of the pistols I have been considering, like the XD, are double action only. Does this mean its going to have a heavy trigger pull?

Any input would be appreciated.

·
Registered
4,533 Posts
The XD trigger isn't bad, but with a bit of work on it, it's actually quite good. Reliability is pretty decent too, as is durability.

The 'safe action' is essentially where the striker is in a 'half-cocked' condition. The trigger stroke pulls the striker the rest of the way rearward, and releases it.

As with the XD, the Glock triggers aren't all that great at all - but can become quite functional with a good trigger job.

It's my opinion that the trigger should ALWAYS work the same way. A double-action pistol is just a missed first shot for me. Sucks actually, 'cause I like Sig pistols - and they're all [ETA: in the models I like] double-action. DAO is an answer in search of a question.