XCR Forum banner
1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Registered
503 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Reloading Press, Materials & Advice Wanted

Is there anybody who may be willing to sell a taken care of progressive reloading press towards the end of next month? I'm new to reloading but I am collecting brass and would like to start.

Also-if anybody can give me advice as to which brand to get (should I have the option), I'm split between the Lee Loadmaster and the Dillon 450. The Lee seems to be a lot less expensive for more features-the only difference I can see is the warranty.

The other stuff that I am looking for and would be interested in buying if you have extras are the sizing, chamfuring, cutting and cleaning tools and accessories etc. I don't have any books either, I've only read online tutorials. If you are interested in unloading some of your stuff please shoot me a note. Like I said-it won't be until at least the end of next month as I'm heading OCONUS for a training exercise.

·
Registered
4,533 Posts
Re: Reloading Press, Materials & Advice Wanted

A long time ago, LEE ran a series of ads saying "ask the man who owns one".
My uncle bought one of their progressives, so I called him and asked what he thought of it.

After answering questions about it, his final statement on the matter was "if you buy a LEE progressive after talking to me, you deserve having your butt kicked for it".

My recommendations on progressives are:
1. Buy a 5-station press. Only deviate from that plan if you buy a press with MORE stations (like the Dillon 1000 / 1050 / Super)
2. If you're going to load precision rifle rounds on the press, take a long and serious look at a Hornady - I believe it trumps Dillon for this.
3. If you're not buying a Hornady or a Dillon, you should be required to write a 2000 word persuasive essay on why you chose something else.

FWIW, I own 2 Hornady progressives. My single stage presses are from LEE, RCBS and Lyman. The only one that is 'clapped out' is the LEE.