XCR Forum banner
1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Let me have them.

I know this is an XCR site...I'm going to post the exact same thing at the Sigarms556 forum.

I have handled both rifles, and was sold on the 556 until I started playing with the XCR...the more I handled it the more I liked it.

It cost a bit more...but I didn't have to change any handguards, sites or anything.

Just curious if you have experience with both.

Bighead

·
Registered
6,531 Posts
I like both, for similar reasons. Right now the Sig is my favorite.

·
Registered
207 Posts
I like both, have shot and handled both, have passed on a killer deal for a 556 (passed it through my hands and into my brothers, he's happy with it), and can proudly state that I would have done the exact same thing over and over again in getting the XCR. In fact, I would, without a doubt, buy a 2nd XCR before diversifying in to a 556. And probably a 3rd, 4th, and 5th.

·
Registered
49 Posts
Get both at some point - I only purchased the 556 first because at the time I could not find an XCR with the new gas system and then when I did, they all had the heavy barrel which I did not want for a 5.56. When I finally get my XCR it will likely be a 6.8 and perhaps the 308 when it comes to fruition. I do have faith in the platform despite the complaints about the trigger and some other small things...it just seems like whatever I'm looking for from RA always has a long wait associated with it - but that's ok, I want it to be "right". The Sig also has it's own warts as does anything else out there.

Oh, did the Sig that you handled have the swiss handguards? for $85 they completely (in a good way) change the feel of the gun as they are much lighter and make the gun feel slimmer/more lively. I'm very satisfied with my 556, no issues.

Good luck!

·
Registered
874 Posts